Home (old)

Welcome to Montague Township!

The Township of Montague is situated on the southeast corner of Lanark County and covers 283 square kilometres.  The municipality is bordered on the south side by the scenic Rideau River and extends west from the City of Ottawa to the Town of Smiths Falls.

The main settlement is the Village of Numogate, followed by the hamlets of Nolans Corners, Rosedale and Kilmarnock (Kilnarne).  The Township is a bedroom community for Smiths Falls, as well as for nearby Ottawa.

Three Rideau waterway lockstations are accessible in Montague Township and the north bank of the Rideau River is an ideal destination for tourists and residents alike.